Homemade Pumpkin Puree

Standard

Remember last month when you happily sat down to carve a jack-o-lantern? You scooped out all of the guts, probably hunted through pinterest for the perfect pumpkin seed recipe and didn’t think twice about spending the time to roast them.

If you can carve a jack-o-lantern for Halloween, you can make your own pumpkin puree for Thanksgiving!

I promise it’s easy and delicious!

You’re probably asking yourself why you should go to the trouble.

  1. Canned goods are typically lined with BPA. If it’s not BPA then it is probably some other form of plastic that I would prefer to avoid.
  2. It’s cheaper. From a couple of junk mail coupon books I found in the mail, it looks like the average can of pumpkin puree costs $1.89.  I bought my pumpkin for $2 and it made at least 4 cups.
  3. Support your local economy. I’d say Farmers Markets are near the top of the list of things that make me happy. We stopped by the last market of the year (5 inches of fresh snow will not stop me!) and bought all of our Thanksgiving vegetables from a local farmer.
    Fun Fact: Libby’s supplies 85% of the worlds canned pumpkin. Climate change might threaten that supply.
  4. You can compost the scraps. We haven’t figured out how to compost in Kalamazoo yet, but if I could I would and life would be great! Sure, you can recycle a can. But the extra energy to down cycle it is just unnecessary.
  5. Bragging rights. There aren’t many people out there that make pumpkin pies from scratch… Here is my go to crust recipe from Joy the Baker, my online baking bible.


Homemade Pumpkin Puree:

Ingredients:

1 sugar pie pumpkin

Directions:

  1. Stab the pumpkin a few times with a knife so that it doesn’t explode in the oven.
  2. Roast the entire pumpkin in a 375 degree oven for around 45 minutes until it is a nice dark, golden orange. You should be able to easily slip a knife into it.
  3. Wait for it to cool a few minutes and carve out the top. Once you get it off you can scoop out the seeds. If it’s easier, cut the pumpkin in half.
  4. Peel off the skin. It should come off quite easily, and if not just use a knife to gently pry it off.
  5. Put the flesh in a blender or food processor and blend until you reach the desired consistency. I find adding a few tablespoons of water helps get things moving.
  6. Store in jars and use when needed. It freezes well, just make sure to leave space at the top so that it can expand.

You’re bound to have some leftovers, so here are a few ideas!

Vegan Spice Pumpkin Bread– Incredibly moist and delicious. I couldn’t get the cashew spread to blend thin enough, so I mixed it with a block of cream cheese.

Pumpkin Spice Latte- While your coffee is brewing whisk around 2 tablespoons of pumpkin puree, 2 tablespoons of maple syrup, 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, a dash of vanilla, and 1/2 cup of milk (preferably whole) over medium heat. Once it starts to bubble you can pour it into a mason jar and shake until frothy (an immersion blender works great if you have it). Pour in your coffee and you’re ready to head out the door! I like to reuse single ankle socks as jar cozies. They keep the drink warm and my hand protected.

Pumpkin Oats- Add a few spoonfuls to your oatmeal in the morning. Drizzle with some local maple syrup and you’re off to a great morning.

Have a great Thanksgiving everyone!

Leave a comment